Skip To Main Content

About the District

The school is located west of the city of Utica, and is contiguous with the villages of New York Mills and Yorkville, and the towns of Whitestown and New Hartford. The district's population is approximately 6,500 and comprises an area of three square miles. The area's cultural and recreational facilities are many and diverse. Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute is one of the leading cultural and arts organizations in Central New York. Cultural events are offered by the Utica Symphony Orchestra, the Broadway Theater League, the Children's Museum and many others. A full range of recreational activities includes health clubs, fitness centers, tennis courts and other facilities. One of several golf courses is located in the Village of New York Mills. The City of Utica operates the Utica Memorial Auditorium which showcases an array of athletic and entertainment events throughout the year.  There are approximately 3,000 acres of park lands and playgrounds in the surrounding areas.

The area's service and high-technology businesses provide a stable economy. Major employers in the area include: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, Fleet Bank of Upstate New York, Utica Corporation, and the F.X. Matt Brewing Co. New York State has established several correctional facilities in the surrounding area, a mental health facility, and a developmental disability service organization.

Transportation facilities include the City of Utica bus system, which services the surrounding communities, and several charter and tour bus services. Rail service is provided by Amtrak and the New York Susquehanna & Western Railroad. USAir is located at the Oneida County Airport, just a few minutes west of the district.

Educational facilities within the surrounding area include Utica University of Syracuse University, Mohawk Valley Community College, and the State University of New York Institute of Technology at Utica/Rome. Also within the immediate vicinity are Hamilton College, Colgate University, Herkimer County Community College, Onondaga Community College, Syracuse University and Le Moyne College.